Hani Alnakhli was one of three athletes to set a world record today ©Getty Images

Three world records were set on the opening day of the 2017 World Para Athletics Dubai Grand Prix at the city's Club for the Disabled today.

The event is the first of a series of nine Grand Prix events, which will be completed before the London 2017 World Para Athletics World Championships in July.

Algeria’s Paralympic shot put champion Asmahan Boudjadar broke the javelin F33 world record she set in Dubai last year.

She added a phenomenal 83 centimetres to her previous javelin mark with her final throw of the day.

Boudjadar managed a throw of 12.82 metres to claim victory.

The men's discus F33 event was won by Saudi Arabia’s Hani Alnakhli, who added 1.53m on to the world record he set in 2015.

The 31-year-old, who won Paralympic silver at London 2012, only managed to register a single throw today but proved imperious with his best effort of 31.03m.

Kuwait’s Paralympic champion Ahmad Almutairi also got his season off to a sublime start, smashing his own world record in the men’s 200m T33.

The 22-year-old, who won the 100m T33 gold at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, knocked 0.61 off the record he set last year as he crossed the line in 29.35sec.

Almutairi’s compatriot Hamad Aladwani was first over the line in the men's 200m T33/53 race in 27.23.

Ahmad Almutairi set a world record in the men’s 200m T33 ©Getty Images
Ahmad Almutairi set a world record in the men’s 200m T33 ©Getty Images

The Namibian duo of Ananias Shikongo and Johannes Nambala also claimed wins today.

Paralympic silver medallist Nambala was the clear winner in the men’s 200m T13 in 22.08, while in the men’s 200m T11, Rio 2016 gold medallist Shikongo came first in 23.50.

Nigeria’s Hannah Babalola won the women's 200m T53/54 in 30.48 before going on to win the 800m T34/53/54 later in the day in 2:01.2.

In the day’s other middle distance events, there was no surprise as local favourite Mohamed Hammadi took the win over two laps in the men’s 800m T33/34/53 race.

The Paralympic champion clocked 1:45.9 in the absence of reigning world champion Walid Ktila of Tunisia.

Turkey’s Muhsine Gezer won the women's 800m T11/12/13/20/46 in 2:31.03 in front of Kenyan Paralympic silver medallist Nancy Koech who finished just over three seconds behind in 2:34.31.

There were wins for Kenya in both the men’s 800m T11/12 as Paralympic 5,000m champion Henry Kirwa clocked 2:04.3, and in the 800m T44/46, thanks to Wesley Kimeli Sang in 1:59.8.

Mohamed Hammadi was victorious in the 800m men’s T33/34/53 race ©Getty Images
Mohamed Hammadi was victorious in the 800m men’s T33/34/53 race ©Getty Images

Out in the field, Algeria’s World Championships silver medallist Lahouri Bahlaz came out on top in the men’s club throw F32.

The 38-year-old’s sixth and final throw of 31.86m proved to be too good.

Iran took the top two spots in the men’s shot put F12/13/20 as Amir Rahmati managed 13.09m which gave him a score of 1,061 points. 

Paralympic silver medallist Saman Pakbaz threw 15.34m to finish second on 893 points.

India's Devendra won the Paralympic title last year but it was Sundar Singh Gurjar, who threw a massive 60.33m to win the men’s javelin F46.

The men's shot put F52/55/56 was won by four-time Paralympic gold medallist Aigars Apinis of Latvia with a best attempt of 9.88m.

Greek Paralympic javelin champion Manolis Stefanoudakis won the men’s shot put F54 with an effort of 8.16m and Great Britain’s Lorn Mayers threw 11.92m to win the men’s shot put F40/41/42.

The women’s discuss F55 was won by Bahrain’s Rooba Alomari with a score of 19.30m and Japan’s Yukiko Kato won the discus throw F37/38/41-46 with a best of 32.78m.

The second of four days of competition is set to take place tomorrow.